What mathematicians like

Counterexample:
I'm a mathematician, (kind of) and I would be

as you say. (Not literally, though.)

Now I am afraid of you.

here's why

After high school, which was long time ago, I begun CS undergraduate study, but mathematics there has been so intimidating to me that I quit after few weeks there. This guy's story, which I've just googled, is so similar to mine.

I don't get it. That story is about being afraid of coding, not being afraid of math. In fact, what saved him was learning R, which is all math/statistics!

You're right; I was too lazy to find a story in which that would be reversed, as in my case, being afraid of math, but not of coding. Fortunately, social science (undergraduate) studies don't teach its statistics courses as mathematically rigorous as elsewhere (its more like following a cook-book recipes and cooking a meal without knowing all the cooking-related chemistry).

Can you explain what does 'kind of' mean in your case?

My impression has always been all mathematicians want is 1) one (uber-)clever script to avoid having to deal with multiple scripts (because that's not elegant enough) with 2) one-and-one-only sprite (because having multiple sprites is even less elegant.)

Cool project

I like math, but I wouldn't try to solve a whole lot.

(uber-)clever

Yep.

one ... script

For me, that isn't always the case.

one-and-only-one sprite

Same as above.

Not at all. For example, I think it's super elegant that
untitled script pic (1)   preloaded libraries script pic (2)
draws a circle and not a random squiggle.