Trouble with accessing variables from clones

Hi! I'm trying to create a racing game that will be multi-player (on the same computer, of course, I don't understand any of the fancy Javascript cloud variable things.)
I am going to explain what the circumstance is so the problem may be easier to solve.
I have a master sprite. The players will be clones of this sprite. I have some "for this sprite only" variables, those being car.x, car.y, caracc (car acceleration), car.turnacc (car turn acceleration), and car.checkpoints, which is the one I'm having a problem with. The game has a 2d list of values for checkpoints, those being x coords, y coords, and directions. Clones are created of the checkpoint sprite and go to these coordinates and those directions. The idea is they check for the clones of the master copy of the car, see if they are touching them, and then check their "car.checkpoints" value. Each checkpoint clone is numbered, and if the car's checkpoint value is one less than the checkpoint's ID, it changes the car.checkpoint value by one. This way, the player has to hit these checkpoints in a specific order. Additionally, these checkpoints are invisible, because they are only there to prevent the player from going off-track and doing loops around the starting line for easy laps. The problem is, for the life of me, I cannot figure out how to get these checkpoint clones to access the value of this variable. The checkpoints don't have a variable called "car.checkpoint", so I have no clue what to insert. I've looked through both the "ask" block and the "_ of _" block, to no avail. Could someone explain what I need to do?

Also, sorry for it being kinda long XD

Don't be sorry, long questions are always better, because they (should) contain all the information needed for someone to help.

How did you try the ([] of []) block? That should work.

Here's a script that might work.

Here's what it does.

• It starts by getting the clones that the checkpoint is touching.