HTML & CSS block

p l e a s e.....p r e t t y p l e a s e?

There is a JS function block....why isn't there a block that enables us to do HTML & CSS? This would make it easier to make miniature webpage projects on Snap!.

Thanks,

F_F101

Hmm. Are you wanting to apply formatting to the Snap! stage? Or make a new window controlled by your HTML? The former would be very, very hard because Snap!'s formatting is done by Morphic, not by the DOM, and so your HTML would be fighting Snap!. As for the latter, can't you make a new window in JS and then inject HTML into it? (I'm not an expert so I could be wrong.)

I want a block that lets us write and format HTML easily on a project...

Try my HTML viewer...

var myHTML = `<b>Hello,</b> <em>world!</em><br>
<a href="https://forum.snap.berkeley.edu">Snap<i>!</i> Forum</a>`,
myWdw = window.open();
myWdw.document.write(myHTML);

I'm sorry, but I'm still having trouble understanding how that would work. Are you saying you want to put formatted text on the stage?

On the "someday" list is the ability to make a text box that can be positioned on the stage as a sprite. We might implement a subset of HTML, such as for italics and boldface, but it won't be a complete browser!

I think what she means is that she wants to have HTML on the stage with everything like canvas.

Very nice, amirite?

Even Better:

:) except it looks more like the JS function block

Well, as I said, that would be hard to coordinate with Morphic.

@funtime_foxy101 I think we would have to find a different way to solve your underlying problem -- what is it you want to display, and where? Or, if the object of the exercise is to learn more HTML/CSS, so nothing but HTML will do, I think you have to run it in a separate window. You could embed a Snap! instance in that window, so you'd be using both Snap! and HTML, but not in the same space.