Brian's high school teaching experience

As, for me, the level of the negative interaction, is way above approvable, but I also do not agree with such statement:

Based on my own experience, the unconditional affirmation, of some kind, is a part of parenthood.
But good teachers need to be the authority and make some rightful evaluation.

If you're teaching students who are about to go out in the world and design airplanes, then yeah. But if you're teaching kids, then the goal is for them to enjoy learning and want to learn more.

When I was a high school teacher, I made it clear that I wasn't giving grades. And after a while kids came to trust me. And then, sometimes, they were willing to let me teach them in a way that exposed them to programming standards.

PS If I'm being incoherent it's because I'm back in the hospital. :~(

Ouch. We are rooting for your full and quick (and lasting!) recovery!

Thanks!

Did the school principal let you not giving grades?

I wish I had such a high school teacher.

This was before computers took over the world. There were just toy computers such as the Apple II and great big computers that cost a fortune. So computing was viewed as an interesting but inessential elective, like art or drama. I'm sure I wouldn't get away with it today! But it was paradise. Every so often we'd just all, whoever was in the computer center at the end of the day, go out for Chinese food. (I'd never get away with that today either.) I'm still friends with a bunch of those kids, who are now in their 40s or 50s with kids of their own. And apart from just being fun and empowering, it meant I could on occasion tell a kid "this code sucks" and the kid didn't hear it as "you're failing." (I would of course only say things like that to kids whose code was generally terrific and who were confident about it.)

PS And I hustled a PDP 11/70 running Unix for the lab, so when Unix and its cousins took over the world, my kids were ready. :~)