Ideas about introducing Snap to third graders

Can anyone give me some ideas about how to start? I'm new at this and have 12 Finch robots that I want to introduce to my third graders.

Hi! Welcome to the community.

What you do will depend on why you're doing it. Teach computer science? Teach math?

A second question is, do you have the original Finch or the new model? It matters because the first version had the terrible bug that you can't place a pen at the rotation center of the device, so you can't do turtle graphics with it.

Probably the best thing to do with a robot is to build a maze and program the robot to find its way through, using touch sensors to detect walls.

Anyway, tell us more about what you're after.

I teach math and science so I'm pretty flexible with the curriculum. Also, I have the original version and I am unaware of the bug you are referring to. Can you give me more info. Additionally, I have a student who is in our LIfe Skills class that is pretty low functioning. Does anyone have any suggestions about how to adapt using the robots and coding to his ability. I already have him working with a partner. I'm just started out with this and basically teaching myself so all the information that I can get to help my students would be greatly appreciated.

The Finch has a little vertical dent in the back where you're supposed to tape a sharpie to draw as the robot moves. But the right thing is for the pen to be at the rotation center of the robot -- in this case, on the line between the wheels. Because it isn't, the pen will draw while the Finch is turning. Try

repeat 4
move 100 steps
turn 90 degrees

and see what it draws. (It should be a square, as it is on the screen.)

For your low functioning student, BirdBrain's version of :sn: has selectable levels that hide some of the more complex features. So the first level might be a good choice.