Date and time formatting reporter

[post deleted]

[post deleted]

[post deleted]

[post deleted]

I'm not an expert, but that sounds like a distinction without a difference. PDT (Pacific Daylight Time) is a timezone, but we still talk about 11:48pm PDT.

I think the invention of "UTC" was an attempt to undo the history of Europe as the center of the universe. Greenwich Observatory was chosen as the center of time measurement because it was an Englishman doing the choosing. "UTC" doesn't change the actual time measurement, but it doesn't privilege a particular landmark along that line of longitude.

So I guess you should choose based on how Anglophilic you are?

Never heard that before. But, thanks to my linguistic knowledge, I can figure out that it's the nominalization of "to like England" (or some other thing related to England).

Adjectivization. The noun is "Anglophilia."

Yes, you're right. ("yo're"? I can't type.)

I never learned to touch-type and was for a long time a two-finger typist. But one day, around age 40, I suddenly realized that I was using all my fingers, even if not in the approved way, and I can actually copy a text without looking at the screen, although I then have to go back and edit it. :~)

? Do you mean on a touchscreen?

I use, like, 4-6 fingers. Usually two-finger, but I use my right thumb to type a space, my pinkies for Shift and Ctrl, and my right middle finger for backspace. I also type a lot faster than I used to.

"Timezone is UTC" isn't a distinction at all! But "a timezone and not a time" is a distinction, of which I can make no sense.

Disclaimer: I haven't checked in Wikipedia yet. Trying to make it to bed tonight.

Try looking here.