An epic fail by me

I'm new to JS, and I decided to try to make an index of () in [list] block using it. It took me a total of around 3 hours to figure it out.
Today, I found out that there's an asArray() method that would cause the list to work properly in a JS function (because apparently the lists are objects). That was absolutely fun for me to find out! (No it wasn't).
Anyways, here's my way-too-complicated block.
Link to forum post
Link to project

A beginners javascript script script pic

why not use Snap!?

I know that I can use the asArray method. I said so in my OP.

I've already made an index reporter using blocks. I just wanted to play with JS.

I don't think Jens intended to tell you about the asArray method; I think he was showing you a shorter way to do it.

Any obviously-useful utility function has probably already been written in JS. :~)

We deliberately don't provide every possible JS method as a Snap! primitive, because after all the purpose of the language is to help people learn to program, and so it's good to let people invent these things on their own (which is what you did, @codeman1044).

But sometimes you have to weigh one principle against another, which is what we did by introducing MAP etc. as primitives. They're easy-ish to write in Snap!, but when dealing with huge amounts of data, either from a database on the net or from the pixels of a picture, they're too slow if not primitives. We're working on inventing a way to have our cake and eat it too, about this.

a potential problem when using JS like this is that it might mutate the list and change it from being a linked list internally to becoming an arrayed one even though you're not intending to mutate it. Therefore, yes, I'm proposing to obsess less about JS.

If I understand the differences between linked lists and arrays right, then I think I can say that I've already encountered this and that my solution was just to use some operators to manipulate it back and forth.